Massive entry for the Scottish International Masters Championships

Stars from all over the world are set to battle it out in Glasgow in January as the Scottish International Masters Championships returns.

A total of 210 seasoned players from around the globe will take to the courts at the Sir Craig Reedie Badminton Centre from January 19-21, bidding to be crowned Masters champion.

Representatives will descend on Glasgow from as far afield as the United States, Canada and China, with strong turnouts from the UK, Ireland and Scandinavia.

Headlining Scotland’s hopes on home courts are the likes of Dan Travers, Christine Black and Alan McMillan.

Travers, along with Billy Gilliland, claimed men’s doubles Commonwealth gold in 1986 in Edinburgh, beating English pairing Andy Goode and Nigel Tier in the final.

More recently, he triumphed in the 60+ men’s singles at the world senior championships earlier this year and will be looking to defend the title he claimed last time around.

Black has won titles at various age groups in world senior championships, and also medalled in Edinburgh in 1986 – she and mixed doubles partner Gilliland defeated Canada’s Ken Poole and Linda Cloutier to win Commonwealth bronze.

McMillan, another of Scotland’s established badminton veterans, returns after winning the men’s doubles with Craig Robertson last year.

England, meanwhile, will see Christine Crossley and Ian Purton aim for glory after their mixed doubles triumph in the world senior championships in September.

Crossley also won women’s singles gold at that competition, while Purton sealed the men’s doubles title.

Brian McKee and Sian Williams represent strong Irish and Welsh hopes respectively, while Per Juul Ulrich of Denmark has a sterling pedigree in senior competitions, being a world senior champion at numerous age groups, as well as winning last year’s 55+ men’s singles in Glasgow.

Ahead of the main action, the tournament will once again be preceded by the Robert McCoig trophy, a team competition between Scotland and England.

And the hosts will be hoping to finally break their duck, with English teams having triumphed on each of the 18 previous occasions.

The McCoig trophy encounter will take place from 11am to 3pm, with the tournament getting underway immediately afterwards.