Kirsty's Maiden PBL Season Ends with Silver

Kirsty Gilmour’s debut Premier Badminton League season was agonisingly close to perfection after helping her Bengaluru Blasters side to the runner-up spot in India.


The Scot and her team took their place in Sunday’s showcase finale, facing off against the Hyderabad Hunters – the franchise that finished top of the round-robin stage.


Despite her best efforts, Gilmour was unable to guide her side to the trophy, missing out 4-3 in a thrilling final which toed-and-froed all afternoon.


That was evident in the Scottish Open Grand Prix champion’s match alone, facing off for the second time in the competition with Carolina Marin – the Spanish shuttler who has denied her two European gold medals.


This pair have always enjoyed competitive badminton and this contest proved no different, with Marin taking the first game 15-8.


But Gilmour, who came closest to ending her rival’s unbeaten Premier Badminton League run, was not going to go down without a fight, within a point of setting up a deciding game.


That couldn’t take away from an impressive week from the 24-year-old however, also running Tai Tzu Ying close in their semi-final meeting.


In fact the Scot had taken the lead against the world No.1, more than holding her own in a cauldron of Hyderabad noise against the Ahmedabad Smash Masters.


But having lost the second game by just a two-point margin, she wasn’t quite able to do the business in the decider, missing out 2-1 to the South Korean.


Her Blasters team soldiered on however and turned the table on their opponents, with captain Viktor Axelsen – world champion in Scotland last year – leading from the front as they took their place in the final.


“I didn't expect that I would come away from the PBL with so many great memories and new friends,” Gilmour tweeted.


“This group of people are amazing- as individuals and as a collective. Until next time.. LET'S GO BLASTERS!!!”


The action doesn’t stop for Gilmour, already continuing her journey across Asia for the Malaysia Masters.