51st Badminton Bonanza

Sameer Aamir and Pamela Hodge defended their Badminton Bonanza titles in Glasgow on Sunday as almost 100 players fought it out on the courts of Scotstoun Leisure Centre’s National Badminton Academy.

The 51st edition of the Badminton Bonanza saw eight winners crowned, in the tournament aimed at giving club standard players the chance to broaden their skills in a competitive environment against others of similar ability.

Aamir defended the competitive men’s singles crown while Hodge won the competitive mixed doubles with Euan Murray, having won it last time out alongside Robert Dunn.

In matches of first to 30 points, Aamir won five from five in Group C and reached the final where he faced Ross Dick – the second qualifier from Group B.

And the defending champion raced away with the final, taking it 30-8 to claim the title.

In the women’s competitive singles, the final saw Abby McCallum face off against Carla-Louise Cameron – the top two qualifiers from the group phase.

And the final played out much the same way as the group encounter between the pair, with McCallum taking the title 30-17.

The competitive men’s doubles saw one of the tightest finals of the weekend, with Nicolas Hadden and Chris Smith edging the showdown 30-27 against Xianghu Chen and Bingjie Wang.

Meanwhile the women’s doubles saw a victory for Deborah Craig and Kerry-Anne Savage as they overcame defending champions Karen Aitken and Hodge 30-28.

But Hodge did defend one of the titles she won last September, taking the mixed doubles alongside Murray in a battle of the top two qualifiers.

And top seeds Murray and Hodge lived up to their billing with a 30-18 victory over Chen and Mengwan Liu.

The Bonanza sees events split into ‘competitive’ and ‘social’ events, with the pool format ensuring all players get a number of matches facing off against opponents of a similar standard.

And it was a format relished by Ronan Diver and the doubles pairings that saw success.

Diver edged to a 30-27 victory over top seed Daniel Baptista-Hon in the men’s social singles final, while Oran McGhie and Craig took the mixed doubles final with a 30-18 victory over Craig Aitken and McCallum.

The last title went to Fauzy Pratama and Mario Soflano, with the pair taking the social men’s doubles after a 30-21 victory over Denis and James Lee.

Click here for full results