2024 Babolat Dunfermline Championships Report

By Gordon Anderson

The 2024 Babolat Dunfermline Badminton Championships on 6 and 7 Jan attracted an entry of 85 players from across the country.

In the Men’s Singles the top 2 seeds both came through challenging and high quality SF’s. Matthew Waring (1), had a marathon 70min battle with Danny Robson (3/4) before taking the deciding set 21-18.

In the bottom half of draw Angus Meldrum (2) edged out Finlay Jack (3/4) in two closely contested sets.

With the Final looking all set to be another exciting match, Matthew unfortunately had to retire midway through the 1st set due to illness. Not the way Angus would have wanted to win, but a deserving champion nonetheless.

The top half of the Women’s Singles draw saw Katrina Chan (3/4) take out top seed Vibha Raman in the SF.

In the bottom half SF, surprise package Tegan Weston (New Zealander, currently based in London) faced Pranavi Singh, who had earlier overcome Sophie Ford (2).

Pranavi took control of the SF match after a close 1st set to win in straight sets. The final between Katrina and Pranavi was another fine match, with unseeded Pranavi claiming the title to win her first Women Senior Singles Event (21-19, 21-19) – Well done!

Earlier on Sunday morning, the Mixed SFs were played. Robert Dunn/Toni Woods (3/4) defeated top seeds Kenneth Cheung/Jodie Harris in the 1st SF, whilst unseeded pairs Zheng Wei Wong/Wen Jun Cheah overcame Mark Mackay/Tegan Weston in the lower half.

Zheng Wei and Wen Jun are relatively new to the Scottish badminton circuit, and there was a buzz around the spectators who had seen their quality in the earlier rounds.

The final certainly lived up to expectations, and although Robert/Toni put up a great fight, it was Zheng Wei/Wen Jun taking the honours 21-16, 21-11.

The Men’s and Women’s Doubles events had been played through to SF stage on Saturday evening. The Men’s Doubles probably had the strongest and deepest roster, with many close and exciting matches throughout.

Top seeds Callum Crangle/Calum Flockhart earned their place in the final following a fiercely contested SF match with Lewis Coghill/Robert Dunn (3/4). Unseeded Peter Sawkins/Zheng Wei Wong then upset the No2 seeds Evan Kenny/Josh Taylor in a terrific 3 setter, taking the decider 21-19.

The Final on Sun afternoon was another match of the highest quality, a real joy to watch, with Callum/Calum coming out on top 21-12, 21-19.

The last final of the championships was the Women’s Doubles where Katrina Chan/Toni Woods (3/4) faced Ishbel McCallister/Brooke Stalker (2).

Earlier Katrina/Toni had toppled top seeds Kirsten Berry/Sophie Ford in another fine match, taking the deciding set 21-16.

Ishbel/Brooke managed to come through a close 3 setter against Vibha Raman/Eva Tremble in the QF, before defeating Rachel Cameron/Jodie Harris in the SF.

The final was delicately poised at 1 set all when Ishbel was forced to retire through injury early in 3rd set. An unfortunate end to a great weekend, handing Katrina/Toni the win.

DBA President Kirsty Flockhart gave a short speech of thanks to BSCO officials, Carnegie Leisure Centre Staff, sponsors Babolat, DBA volunteers and all players & spectators, before presenting the prizes.

Find out more