Ireland aiming to retain her singles crown

Lindsey Ireland was today confirmed as the top seed in the Under 17 girls’ singles at the National Junior Badminton Championships, to be held at Ravenscraig Regional Sports Facility in Motherwell on 6 and 7 April 2019.

The Aberdeen based player is the only defending champion in either age group, having won the girls’ singles title last year at the age of only 14.

The player expected to be standing in her way come finals day on 7 April is second seed Jodie Black, who Ireland defeated in a close three-game tussle in last year’s semi-final.

But joint 3/4 seeds Brooke Stalker – who won a hat-trick of singles, doubles and mixed in last year’s Under 13 events – and Abbie Brooks will also be determined to have a say in the final destination of this year’s title.

Ireland and Black team up as top seeds in the girls’ doubles with Stalker again expected to provide some of the stiffest competition, this time as second seed along with her partner Keryn Swan.

Euan Campbell is the top seed in the boys’ singles but second seed Lewis Hart will be hoping to upset the formbook in his home town, while the joint 3/4 seeds are Angus Meldrum and Callum Stokes.

The positions are reversed in the doubles – Hart and his partner Isaac Weir start as favourites for the title with Campbell and Nathan MacPherson seeded second.

In the mixed doubles Hart and Black, who are the only players at this age group to be seeded in all three events, take the top seed position while Swan and Finlay Sheriff are second seeds.

In the Under 13 age group Iona Muir starts as title favourite in all three events.

Deepti Vijayakumar is second seed in the girls’ singles and the two team up as top seeds in the doubles, with Abigail Barrie and Lanna Campbell expected to meet them in the final.

In the mixed doubles Muir and Euan Stewart are top seeds with Alfie Martin and Campbell seeded second.

Stewart is also boys’ doubles top seed with Callum Jack, ahead of second seeds Tushar Senthilrajaram and Lingyun Xiao and Senthilrajaram is also second seed in the singles behind Blair Tait, with Michael Lawson and Lewis McDonald seeded joint 3/4.

The U13/17 National Junior Badminton Championships is being staged at Ravenscraig Regional Sports Facility in Motherwell on 6 & 7 April 2019.

The draw will be published at by Wednesday 3 April.

A full list of seeds is shown below.

U13 Boys’ Singles: Holder – Ben Riddle (North Berwick)
1.  Blair Tait (Edinburgh)
2.  Tushar Senthilrajaram (Broxburn)
3/4. Michael Lawson (Hamilton); Lewis McDonald (Kirkliston)

U13 Girls’ Singles: Holder – Brook Stalker (Dunfermline)
1.    Iona Muir (Renfrew)
2.    Deepti Vijayakumar (Edinburgh)

U13 Boys’ Doubles: Holders – Joseph O’Neil Ferrero (Stonehaven)/Ben Riddle (North Berwick)
1.    Callum Jack (North Berwick)/Ewan Stewart (Glasgow)
2.    Tushar Senthilrajaram (Broxburn)/Lingyun Xiao (Edinburgh)

U13 Girls’ Doubles: Holders – Katrina Chan (Glasgow)/Brooke Stalker (Dunfermline)
1.    Iona Muir (Renfrew)/Deepti Vijayakumar (Edinburgh)
2.    Abigail Barrie (Inverness)/Lanna Campbell (Rutherglen)

U13 Mixed Doubles: Holders – Ben Riddle (North Berwick)/Brooke Stalker (Dunfermline)
1.    Ewan Stewart (Glasgow)/Iona Muir (Renfrew)
2.    Alfie Martin (East Kilbride)/Lanna Campbell (Rutherglen)

U17 Boys’ Singles: Holder – Callum Smith (Duns)
1.    Euan Campbell (Dunbar)
2.    Lewis Hart (Motherwell)
3/4. Angus Meldrum (Dundonald); Callum Stokes (Duns)

U17 Girls’ Singles: Holder – Lindsey Ireland (Aberdeen)
1.    Lindsey Ireland (Aberdeen)
2.    Jodie Black (Eyemouth)
3/4. Abbie Brooks (Crieff); Brooke Stalker (Dunfermline)

U17 Boys’ Doubles: Holders – Calum Flockhart (Kelty)/Callum Smith (Duns)
1.    Lewis Hart (Motherwell)/Isaac Weir (Duns)
2.    Euan Campbell (Dunbar)/Nathan MacPherson (Stonehaven)

U17 Girls’ Doubles: Holders – Alice Campbell (Glasgow)/Erin Waddell (Ralston)
1.    Jodie Black (Eyemouth)/Lindsey Ireland (Aberdeen)
2.    Brooke Stalker (Dunfermline)/Keryn Swan (Alexandria)

U17 Mixed Doubles: Holders – Michael McGuire (Bothwell)/Alice Campbell (Glasgow)
1.    Lewis Hart (Motherwell)/Jodie Black (Eyemouth)
2.    Finlay Sheriff (Dunblane)/Keryn Swan (Alexandria)